Paterson

My previous blog posts are embarrassing

I watched a lot of movies lately. But this is the only movie that motivates me to write, a procrastinated movie

What is the movie about?  Here’s what it is about – “Adam driver plays the character of a driver called Paterson in Paterson. He writes about a character who writes in everyday life”

The pace of the movie is slow. Tonight I finally decided to finish it after 3 failed attempts. I can’t say I like it, I can’t say it’s the most uniquely mundane movie I’ve ever watched. Japan movies top the list in this area, like 100 yen love, the lead reported to police after being raped calmly.

But in Paterson, there’s no sex no violence, a huge contrast to my previous movie watched The Wolf of Wall Street. It’s so peaceful that I guess the climax of the movie is where the dog bit Paterson’s poetry book into pieces. Also, no display of the biting scene.

In fact, I don’t see any problems that has to be solved. While watching, I imagined the resolution to be he kills his wife because his wife is the only character in the movie whom happened to look like villain. Laura did nothing but continuously breaking the disciplined routine Paterson, a former marine enjoyed. Yet, she is the most relatable character on screen so far

Good thing about slow pace movies is they forced you to look into details. The composition, the arrangement of props, the colours, the dialogues, Laura’s fashion and the meaning that all these intend to deliver

But I’m lazy to attach possible meaning to all of them. Ah ha. So..

What I like

-The repeatedly mentions of Paterson throughout the movie, in dialogues and as mise-en-scene. Be it the people’s name on the bar’s wall or the bus LED sign

– Paterson is a town with a number of people who write poem and a number of twins

– The bulldog. I feel it’s existence brighten up the mood and add a hint of humour everytime he barks or makes noises

– The high angle composition of the couple lying side by side in bed every morning(movie poster)  I really don’t want to imply any meaning to it. Simply liking what I saw. I like to read other’s interpretations but never mind on mine regarding this

– The way their house look like children’s drawing – the pointy roof with a mailbox in front and a pathway to the main road. It would be better if there’s chimney

– The Japanese’s bag

– The intense use of bgm when Paterson’s writing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment